I’m a Barbie Girl, In a ‘Racist’ Barbie World

natural-hair-Barbie

This week (Harlem, New York) mothers made their struggles known, as they demanded for Mattel, the popular Barbie making company to produce more Barbies of color. Like most mothers, Georgia Braithwaite, yearned to do nothing less than throw her daughter the best party she could. Thus, as soon as her daughter told her that she wanted a “Barbie-themed” party, she headed straight to the nearest party store. Nonetheless, as Karen Braithwaite, an eager mother, walked the isles of the store, she came to a standstill. She couldn’t find any products revolving around Barbies of color. Faced with overflowing isles of blonde haired, blue eyed Barbies, Karen had no other choice but to make ends meet. She chose to do the best she could and bought the closest complexioned Barbie to her daughter—Malibu Barbie. After devoting her time to coloring in each and everyone of the Malibu Barbies faces, Karen was ready to celebrate her daughters special birthday celebration with her!
……After hearing about this, all I have to say is REALLLY?!?! It’s 2013 Mattel, how can you not have a diverse group of Barbies? What is this the 50’s? There should be no hesitation when it comes to making globally conscious Barbies! We are living in a increasingly interconnected society, and this should be the last outlet for racism!! Children should be able to relate to people, let alone their dolls. If we have Black, Asian and Latina children aspiring to look like a Caucasian Barbie (and her counterpart Ken), we have children growing up with a conflicting self image. As Karen Braithwaite exclaimed, “The message they are sending when they exclude black Barbies, is that blonde hair and blue eyes are the ideal.”
We have to emphasize to our children, what makes the world beautiful is that people come in all colors, shapes, and sizes!

To sign a petition to increase the production of interracial Barbies, go to:

http://www.change.org/petitions/mattel-offer-party-supplies-featuring-barbies-of-color

7 thoughts on “I’m a Barbie Girl, In a ‘Racist’ Barbie World

  1. I always try to buy black Barbies as gifts for my friends kids. It is extremely hard to find them. It is 2013 and the Barbie brand would be better with more diversity. It’s a shame they are taking so long. My daughter is 8 months and I’m sure dolls will be plentiful as she grows older. I myself had a lot of Barbies as a kid but not a one was black that I remember (aside from the Alladin dolls). I didn’t notice since it was “mommy’s complexion) but I notice now. Let’s add some of “us” to the Barbie brand.

      • I totally agree! What is even sadder? My own parents had the SAME problem finding Black dolls (including Barbie) when I was a little girl backintheday. *smh*(shaking my head) To hell with profits I guess..I know countless parents who would BUY. One other option? Hit them in the pocket! Which is what my parents did. Simply means do NOT buy Barbie products until they cater to folks of color and all races…Money talks or rather lack of profits does. Whenever my future grandgirls are born; they won’t be able to give me a Barbie doll for free! Pfft..

      • I agree! People need to protest and refuse to but any Mattel products until they start making Barbies of color. Additionally, not only should they start making more globally convoys Barbies, but Kens as well!

      • Exactly…Barbie is an American Icon yet so far behind the times. Our country is the most diverse it has ever been; Mattell better get with the program! Or get left behind and discarded

  2. The daftest thing about this is how they have regressed in time.
    When I was a little girl (back in the … eeek….. seventies!), the coolest doll you could possibly have was called a sacha doll, and they looked like this:
    http://sashadollblog.blogspot.it/2008/12/cora-and-diversity-of-sasha-dolls.html
    They made them in every ethnicity you could possibly imagine and they were SO beautiful. Most of the girls in my school had one.
    If dolls like this were all over the place almost 40 years ago, what is going on in the 21st century?

    • This is the first time I’ve ever heard of these Sacha Dolls, thank you so much for bringing them to my attention! And I agree, it’s definitely interesting to see the ways our country has gone backwards and become more racially segregated in a lot of ways! I hope Mattel becomes more globally conscious and starts to make dolls of all colors, shapes, and sizes!

Leave a Reply

